Senatorial candidate Lito Yap David on Catholic Vote, gun control, senate experience, and political dynasty

Lito Yap David in GMA News To Go In Depth dated Jan 23, 2013

Lito Yap David in GMA News To Go In Depth dated Jan 23, 2013

[I transcribed the interview of Lito David in GMA’s News To Go which was uploaded in You Tube January 23, 2013.  I directly translated to English while transcribing.  I hope this transcript would be useful to others who wish to know more about the Senatorial Candidate Lito David of Ang Kapatiran Party.]

1.  What for you is the biggest problem in our country?

Poverty which is the fruit of corruption is the biggest problem of our country.  Thus, we must strive to remove corruption so that we can give solution to the problem of poverty of our citizens.

2.  You were are representative or member of the Ang Kapatiran Party which has religious orientation.  I assume that you have been an anti-RH advocate?

That is true.

3.  Why? So you believe that there is a Catholic Vote? 

It was proven in 1995.  Senator Flavier should have been No.  1, but he ended up No. 5 in that election.  This 2010, the poster girl of the RH campaign and the poster boys of the RH campaign–those three lost: Risa Hontiveros, Nerio Acosta, and Ruffy Biazon.  Negative Catholic vote was silent before, and did not became noisy.  But it happened.

4. But we can say that there are Pro-RH also won and the RH itself won.

The pro RH’s win, Howie, in the previous months we cannot say was not an honest vote.  As far as we know, because we were there, many of them there were intimidated or bribed to vote in favor  of RH.

5.  So there was bribery?

Yes.  It was clear.  It was not denied by the palace, even if we said it many times in the TV and radio, that they were there to threaten the others that if they will not vote Pro, they better not come; otherwise their pork barrel will not be released.  That was the thing that happened before.

6.  Do you possess a gun?

Me, no.  Ever since I never had a gun.

7.  What is your view on gun ownership and proliferation of guns in the society?

It was due to our allowing this culture.  But the Filipino culture is peace-loving.  But we only allowed a few to own guns.  The stand of Ang Kapatiran Party is not to outlaw guns and gun ownership, but to regulate well the bringing of guns in public.  The permit to carry is what should be regulated–that is what we are pushing for.

8.  Why are you immediately running for the senate? You have no experience in elections.  You have not yet run before.

This is my second time.  In 2010 I also ran under the Ang Kapatiran Party as one of the senatorial candidates.  I was instructed by the party to run again.  If it is experience and competence in crafting of laws, I already have a long experience.  I spent 10 years working in the senate, there are many laws that I took part in crafting.  There  are also many laws that I primarily finished. But because I am only a staff, I could not own the writing of the law. We are the background workers that make these laws.

9.  So what are tyourhe priorities if you enter the senate?

We have many priorities: the prohibition of political dynasty, control of ownership and use of guns, the passage of freedom of information law, the prohibition of the pork barre–these are some of the items that we shall really push for.  For me, personally, I wish to focus on the creation of frameworks for the use of land and water resources.  Up to this time, before I left senate, I already finished that proposal.  It was already in the senate floor.  But the problem is some senators did not find it important.  But for me it is important because this will give us true progress in our country.

10.  You oppose political dynasty, but you have a member in Ang Kapatiran, one senatorial candidate, JC delos Reyes who is a member of the Gordon Political Family.  Would you oppose his running again if the Anti-Dynasty Law gets passed?

He is the one who said that if the Anti-Dynasty Law gets passed, he said he will not run if Senator Gordon is there.

11.  Ok. We have a Miss Universe portion on a lighter portion regarding the character and personality.  When was the last time you cried?

Just the other day.  When I looked back to the length of time for my fight for the betterment of our society, sometimes I feel tired.  I started at 17 years old.  Many times I was nearly killed.  Before I fought for an ideology for our citizens.  Now I am fighting for the Faith for our citizens.

12.   What is the trait that you don’t like with your self?

Sometimes, I do procrastinate.  I have a problem with that.  But I was able to work against it.

13.  Do you have something to change in your past, what is it?

There are many things that I wish to change, that is why I am here.  This is my way to pay my sins to my fellowmen and to God.

Thank you, Lito David of Ang Kapatiran Party.

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

One Response to Senatorial candidate Lito Yap David on Catholic Vote, gun control, senate experience, and political dynasty

  1. Reblogged this on clentdarylbalaba and commented:
    I will vote for him as a senator

Leave a Reply

