Pedro Calungsod: A model for Jesuit-trained lay catechists

I found the following news from SNIPCebu:

Blessed Pedro Calungsod has moved closer to being declared a saint by the Catholic Church after a favorable vote from the Vatican’s Congregation for the Cause of Saints. The Congregation, all members of which are cardinals, voted unanimously for Calungsod’s canonization. There are talks that Pope Benedict XVI may issue the bull of canonization in a few months.

I think it would be good for students in the Jesuit-run Ateneo de Manila University to rejoice in this news.  But religious fervor has waned in Ateneo as compared to the past, and I don’t hear any mention of Pedro Calungsod in our school.  But there are exceptions.  I know a Jesuit who has devotion to Blessed Pedro Calungsod.  His name is Fr. Victor Badillo, SJ.  He has a blog named after the blessed Pedro Calungsod.

 

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

One Response to Pedro Calungsod: A model for Jesuit-trained lay catechists

  1. Romeo Bayno says:

    A Prayer Early Answered, Lately Recognized

    One Friday night after we had our dinner, I went to the dark BPC Hall of ACC and found out that the altar where there is the enthroned framed Beato , don’t have flowers. I was so disappointed why the flower arrangers of the weekend failed to include its altar when in fact, I always bring flowers every weekend during the formation. So out of my concern, I went outside and pick bougainvilleas and arranged it in a flower vase and placed it on the altar.
    I am a volunteer catechist of the Archdiocesan Shrine of St. Anthony of Padua, Tuburan, Cebu. Our parish sent us to this Basic Catechist Formation Program of the Archdiocesan Catechetical Ministry. This is a 17 weekend catechist training program of the Archdiocese of Cebu. The venue of this catechist training program is at the Archdiocesan Catechetical Center, along C. Mina Steet, Mabolo, Cebu City. This is just at the back of the Mabolo Parish Church..
    Just call me Meo, 53 years of age, a father of three (3) grown-ups and a grandfather of a five (5) year old boy, by my eldest daughter. My wishes for them, is to have them finish their respective college education and for me to be able to fulfill this, I worked hard for my children. I sent them to a good school, a member of Catholic Educational Association of the Philippines (CEAP) because I wanted them to have a good foundation in Catholic learning, because I came from a Catholic family, a branch of a devout Catholic family members whose other branches went already astray. It’s only us in my father’s, because my other uncles and aunts had shifted to different religions or to other Christian faith. My family was a happy one, until a problem came-up that started when I lost my job that made me to distance myself from them. Disintegrated myself from my family, and ended-up in my church volunteer works, and opted to live separately in my hometown. This story of mine is about how; my prayer was answered with his intercession, the Blessed Pedro Calungsod.
    When our formation class resumed that night, Sister Maricor informed us that the scheduled viewing of Cardinal Rosales video can’t be shown because, she cannot locate it. Instead, she showed us a documentary made by a priest about the beatification rite of Pedro Calungsod Sometime in March, 2000. While the viewing is going on, a memory on that event came-up to my mind, when I saw those carozzas from different parishes and the procession of the Beato. I remembered that on that particular event, I was there! And it’s not just that I witnessed that occasion but I remembered about my little and short prayer to him when he passed-by me on that procession. I said to him: Now, you are already a Beato, and I was told by the priests on that event that you can intercede for us.Please help me in my problem. I am now an unemployed when our company was closed last month. My daughter Ivy, cannot proceed to her 2nd year proper in Business Administration. My son cannot proceed to college after graduating at the Holy Rosary School of Pardo. He told me that if he cannot go to college, he will just go to Manila and join her aunt working in Divisoria. My youngest daughter will have to enroll as first year high school also at the Holy Rosary. Our finances were in turmoil. A collected payment in form of a check from an exporting company whom I supplied with handicrafts, bounced. Don’t have money since my wife is jobless since my kids were still young. Our apartment rental has long been overdue and we will be ejected (we really were ejected, eventually). Our light and water is in danger of cutting-off. That was my prayer that he will just help my children.
    My tears run-down to my cheeks because I just remembered that, that prayer of mine has long been answered because, God helped me for my children. When enrollment time came in May, a miracle happened. Ivy, the eldest passed a scholarship from the College of Commerce in University of San Jose Recoletos. My only son passed also a Norwegian shipping company sponsored scholarship at the University of Cebu. My youngest child who is about to go to high school after graduating from that same school, just opted to transfer at the nearby public high school for no choice.
    I only realized this after eleven years and eight months that that was an answered prayer. My children today have lives of their own after finishing their respective courses. The eldest Ivy, after years working in a stable hardware store opted to shift career in a well-paid call center industry got married to an engineer. My son even though he didn’t finished his apprenticeship in a Norwegian shipping company because of an accident that cost his lower left leg, now enjoying his damage-claim that gave him his 2 houses and lot, bank deposit and monthly pension and now working also in a BPO industry. The youngest after her time in the College of Mass Communications, USJR, now works in a BPO industry. These are my graces from God and I am counting on these.
    I collected all my thoughts during that night. Those events in my life that lead me to become a church volunteer and a catechist are all God’s plan for me. It was just a sort of a calling. And I realized that it was him who made that call, for me to continue his unfinished mission, not in Guam, but to the much needy children in our town. I can endure all the hardships , far from my family, my loneliness , and I know I can fight these through his continuing intercession and the continuing intercession also of the Blessed Mother, the ever Virgin Mary, the co-Redemptor and Mediatrix of all Graces.
    And for those who may read this, please pray for me also.

Leave a Reply

