A poem based on Lee Seon Hee’s song, “Fox Rain” from the movie, “My Girlfriend is a Nine-Tailed Fox”

The movie “My Girlfriend is a Gumiho” is a tale of love, sacrifice, and life after death.  The storyline has structural similarities with Hans Christian Andersen’s “Little Mermaid”, which was mentioned in the movie.  If ever there was a book or script of “My Girlfriend is a Gumiho”, I would like to get one.

The song, “Fox Rain”, was enchantingly written specifically for the movie.  The lyrics are simple, as can be read from Princess. of.Tea’s Corner blog. But there is always something lost in the translation. I tried to rewrite the translation, filling some details here and there from the movie. But I reached a point when I can not anymore recognize the original verses. So I’ll just put my name instead of Lee Seon in order to do justice to his song.

The structure is heroic couplet, though I arranged them in three lines. The metrical structure is still unpolished, but that would require many days of work. So pardon for now.

Fox Rain

by Quirino Sugon Jr.

Maybe I love you, maybe I fear you
I fear whom I love, I love whom I fear
And my heart beats faster

I wish you never left the temple
I wish I never traced your picture
But here you are

This love leads to death
As the morning turns to night
The pain in my heart increases

I spend my days pondering the riddle:
The silly fox who counts her tails
Is a little girl who cries in the rain

Love leads and the heart follows
Wherever I go there you go
But I wish you’ll just go

The day shall come when all my pain is gone
Yet you, too, shall be gone
From my side

Is there no way for you to be mortal
But that I, too, shall live my years
and we shall be together?

To grow old as husband and wife
To plan our travels, visit old churches,
And count our children?

We take pictures to preserve memories
But my heart remembers all
Will you still remember me?

The moon is bright and beautiful
So full, so far, so unearthly
Just like you

Rare are eclipses yet I await their coming
For it is only when moon lies hidden
That I shall see you

Let me lie down beside you
For a moment, for a moment
Forever

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

Leave a Reply

