Fr. Victor Badillo, S.J.: “I killed Fr. Galdon”

I Killed Fr Galdon

Fr. Victor L. Badillo, S.J.

(13 Aug 2010)

One evening, Fr Asandas Balchand (Province Prefect of Health) came to me right after he had visited Joe Galdon across the corridor. He said, “Joe has been dying. He is just waiting for some one before he dies.” I had seen an ever increasing number of visitors and there was that feeling in the air when the end is near. No one wanted to come late. I remembered what our neighbor in Singalong, Dr Amparo Sanchez, told me. “I told my aunt. ‘Tia Cale, malaki na ang mga pamangkin ninyo. May mga asawa at anak na sila. Inalagaan ninyo ng mahusay. Maari na kayong magpahinga.’. (Aunt Cale. Your nephews and nieces are all grown up. They are married and have families. You brought them up good and responsible persons. It is alright to rest now.) In a short time she quietly passed away, though she was healthy. It was as if she had just willed to die.”

I thought of these coincidences: Balch coming to me. His message. What Amparo told me. Why me? Was Joe waiting for a close relative, a close friend? Was it I Joe is waiting for? I got the strength from the light to cross the corridor. I said to Joe, “Joe, I love you. I want you to live and get well. But you have suffered long and much. It is time to rest, to be with Jesus. Let me give you my blessing. May the almighty God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit bless you. Amen” Joe has not been able to communicate in any way. He could not have heard what I said.

Before dawn, the visitor Joe has been waiting for came. I came to nudge him to death. Jesus to bring everlasting life. No Alzheimer’s disease, nor thrones nor principalities, nor anything over the earth or under the earth, could prevent him from heeding . “Let us home, Joe. To my father and to your father.”

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

One Response to Fr. Victor Badillo, S.J.: “I killed Fr. Galdon”

  1. bvergara says:

    Why in the world would you give this kind of title?!!! Did you pull the plug on a dying human being, a consecrated soul? This is too freakY!!!

Leave a Reply

