Request for Prayers for Fr. Joseph A. Galdon, S.J.

Update: From the Friends of Fr. Joseph Galdon, S.J. Facebook Group:

Our dear Fr. G peacefully passed away at 5:30 am, Monday, March 15, 2010, Manila.

Kindly say a prayer for the eternal repose of his soul.

The remains of Fr. Galdon will lie in state at the College Chapel starting March 15. There will be a 8pm mass on March 15,16 & 17 and a 8am mass on March 18. His remains will then be brought to Sacred Heart Novitiate on March 18 for his burial.

Previous Request from Fr. Bill Kreutz:

We ask the Ateneo community to keep in their prayers, Fr. Joseph
Galdon, SJ, retired English professor and former dean of the college.
He is quite weak and is near death. He has pneumonia and is breathing
heavily. He has already been anointed. Pray that he may pass to the
Lord peacefully.

Thank you.

Fr. Bill, SJ
Rector, Jesuit Residence

William H Kreutz SJ
Jesuit Residence
Ateneo de Manila University
Katipunan Road Loyola Heights
1108 Quezon City Philippines
Telephone Number (63) (2) 426 5941
Fax Number (63) (2) 426 5987

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

4 Responses to Request for Prayers for Fr. Joseph A. Galdon, S.J.

  1. RG David says:

    I am forwarding to all my former classmates at Ateneo, the request of the Society of Jesus to pray for one of its “soldiers” Rev. Fr. Joseph Galdon whom we all had the privilege of having as a teacher and counselor at both high school and college and for a few of us, graduate level.

  2. Jay Balza says:

    From the Friends of Fr. Joseph Galdon, S.J. Facebook Group:

    Our dear Fr. G peacefully passed away at 5:30 am, Monday, March 15, 2010, Manila.

    Kindly say a prayer for the eternal repose of his soul.

    The remains of Fr. Galdon will lie in state at the College Chapel starting March 15. There will be a 8pm mass on March 15,16 & 17 and a 8am mass on March 18. His remains will then be brought to Sacred Heart Novitiate on March 18 for his burial.

  3. Kori says:

    Wow, never had him as a professor but I really love the reverence students give to the Jesuit profs (in our time: Fr. Luis David, Fr. Dacanay, Fr. Dan Macnamara, Fr. Joseph Roche, Fr. Villarin and Fr. Ben Nebres to name a few..). I’ll pray for him.

  4. Marlen Meer Forbes says:

    I am blessed to have known Fr. Galdon and am sad that he has passed away.
    I met Fr. Galdon when I asked him to be the Retreat master of the Faculty I belonged to in a private high school (30+ years ago). There begun my spiritual journey with Our Lord through Fr. Galdon.
    Then he was the priest who married us. He made my husband so at ease during the ceremony, considering my husband was not Catholic. My husband will always respect Fr. Galdon’s understanding and love.
    He was a wonderful spiritual advisor for many years, even if I was already living in the States.
    My husband and I will always remember him as a holy priest, who had so much wisdom and humor.
    Now I have someone I know who will be praying for us.
    My comment is my small way of giving honor and pride to have known Fr. Galdon.
    He will always be in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

