Jane Stangle of the Holy Mary of Good Success Latin Chorale

Good pm Dr. Sugon, Mr. Rameses,

Congratulations on your new TLM group which I heard about. I immediately opened your blogspot which came to my attention.

I am not a student, but being a former Protestant instantaneously converted by Mary, I seek the Latin Mass and was instrumental in moving it forward in some ways.

With two seminarians, I assisted in establishing TLM in Bacoor, Cavite doing liaison for its approval by Bishop Tagle. TLM continued there for a year only.

Having formed many choirs in Las Pinas, In December 2009, I formed an all-female Latin Chorale and we have been practicing once a week for a year now. However, I have not taught them responses, which is why we do not service any Latin Mass as yet. But should I do so, it will be the Missa de Angelis.

I have been spreading devotion to Holy Mary of Good Success of Quito, Ecuador since 2004 till today, the Patroness of Catholic Tradition, which includes the saying of the Latin Rosary with sung Litany. Thus, the name of our female Latin Choir is the HOLY MARY OF GOOD SUCCESS LATIN CHORALE. We are seven regular members that can stretch to ten, three being irregular. Our choir is an Apostolate, our aim being to spread the Latin Rosary, Latin Liturgical Music and the devotion to Holy Mary of Good Success.. I have been in touch with your Jesuit recording in the hope of someday getting our music recorded.

Together with the seminarian who introduced us to Holy Mary of Good Success, we were able to celebrate the Feast Day of Holy Mary of Good Success in February, 2005 in Malacanang Palace with TLM attended by President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo. We were able to ‘borrow’ a priest who knew Latin Mass who flew in from Butuan, Fr. Josilo Amallah, and received permission to say the Mass from the priest who baptized me, Msgr. Josefino Ramirez of Quiapo Church (who by the way sponsored TLM in Binondo Church early on, which I used to attend way back).

Should there be an organist to accompany us in the future (since I join the choir singing the tenor part), we would be happy to sing at some special Mass as a guest choir free of charge so long as we are informed well in advance so we can prepare our repertoire. We can rehearse with the organist a few hours before the Mass.

My speciality is voice. I took a masteral in voice workshop under Madame Raquel Adonaylo at the CCP. Adonaylo is faculty at the Curtis School of Music and trainor of the Boston Opera. I took some informal lessons on the reading and interpretation of chant, enough to teach the choir.

Music is only an avocation. I am a journalist (editor level) and coffeetable book author.
In 2009, I was more into music and semi-retired from my writing. I am currently producing a musical idiom for the Musika Filipina Foundation, a project of former Tourism Secretary Mina Gabor.

Again, congratulations. Thanks be to God that Catholic Tradition moves forward more and more.

Jane Stangle

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

4 Responses to Jane Stangle of the Holy Mary of Good Success Latin Chorale

  1. Jose Ma. Alfonso Eugenio says:

    Congratulations Ms Jane! She was my partner in establishing TLM in Cavite. I was the one who introduce to her the devotion to OLGS. Keep Up Sis Jane – Juana Theresa

  2. Joseph says:

    Dear monks hobbit,
    I am a seminarian and within two years, I will be ordained priest. I will be back in tagaytay this coming april 6. I am too happy to learn your site and this letter of Jane stangle. This is God’s answer to my prayer since I love TLM and I am now starting to study the TLM privately because i could not get yet the special permission from my superiors. I wish to know Ma’am Jane if possible. I am also promoting the Latin Rosary and infact I started it with our altar servers. God bless us all.

  3. jane stangle says:

    Good to hear from you Bro M.
    Am ever grateful to you for having introduced Holy Mary of Good Success to us, as you can see I have seriously carried her banner since you passed Her to me. Thank you for your felicitation, but it is you who should be thanked. Since you have singlehandedly trained priests and altar servers in the rubrics of TLM, you are following the advice of Holy Mary of Good Success to the letter, who said that it would be wise for Catholics in the 20th Century and beyond to return to Catholic Tradition, no less than the Latin Tridentine Mass of all times– and that all who would do this work would be greatly blessed. Just like the Maccabeans in the Old Testament who worked for the Restoration, let us both work harder in our own niches for the Restoration of the Church to its full glory!. I am doing my own little bit by promoting the Latin Rosary and my Latin Choir.
    My best regards to Tatay and Chacha, Bea, Jopat, Iggy and Joel also — he attended the Marian Millenium Training I gave together with Nanay long time ago.

  4. jane stangle says:

    Dear Brother Joseph,
    I pray you may quickly become a priest. The more priests who are TLM oriented, the more Heaven is pleased. You said you are teaching the Latin Rosary to your altar servers and that you will be back in Tagaytay in April? Are you studying abroad yet? Please correspond with me at my email address janestangle@yahoo.com.ph
    The thing to do now is to place in the pocket of HOLY MARY OF GOOD SUCCESS, whom I apostolate bringing around Her image with the Latin Rosary—-the intention that your superiors will be open to your saying a TLM EVERYDAY in your community once you are a priest. The freedom to do that, and also to open that Mass to anyone who wants to come to attend it.
    Make it your lifes work to bring back Tradition and TLM — it is the most important work of the future, believe me. HOLY MARY OF GOOD SUCCESS in Quito, Ecuador in the 16th century sressed it as the role of good and serious Catholics in the 20th century and beyond!

Leave a Reply

