Blueboard: Traditional Latin Mass at the Ateneo: an Invitation to Form a Stable Group

Dominus Vobiscum!

If you say “Et cum spiritu tuo,” then you know the Traditional Latin Mass.

The Traditional Latin Mass was codified during the Council of Trent  (1545-1563) and became the mass of the Latin Rite Catholics all over  the world for five centuries. Even the Church Fathers during the  Second Vatican Council (1962-1965) celebrated the Traditional Latin  Mass.  In 1969 Pope Paul VI replaced the Traditional Latin Mass with  the New Mass, which is the same mass that we know today at the Ateneo  de Manila University.  But because of the continued request of many  bishops, priests, and faithful around the world, Pope Benedict XVI, through his encyclical Summorum Pontificum of 2007,  liberalized the  use of the Traditional Latin Mass.  He calls it the extraordinary form  of the Roman Rite and Pope Paul VI’s New Mass as the ordinary form.   Pope Benedict XVI decreed that a Traditional Latin Mass may be celebrated in any parish if there is a stable group of faithful who  requests it and if there is a priest who is willing to say it.

In Ateneo de Manila University, there is one priest who knows how to  celebrate the Traditional Latin Mass.  His name is Fr. Timoteo  Ofrasio, S.J., a professor of Liturgy at the Loyola House of Studies.   In his private chapel he celebrates the Traditional Latin Mass  everyday.  He is willing to celebrate it regularly in public if there  is a stable group who requests it.  If you wish to be part of this  stable group, please email Dr. Quirino M. Sugon Jr. at  qsugon@ateneo.edu or qsugon@observatory.ph.  In your email please  state if you know how to serve at mass or sing in Gregorian chant.

As Ateneo de Manila University celebrates its 150th founding  anniversary, it is worthwhile to look back and recover Ateneo’s lost  Latin heritage.  Let us restore the ancient mass that molded many  generations of Ateneans from Jose Rizal to Ninoy Aquino, the ancient  mass that strengthened many Jesuit missionaries in the Philippines and  other countries, the ancient mass that St. Ignatius himself lived.   Let us restore the Traditional Latin Mass.

Deo gratias.

Monk’s Hobbit Notes: I sent this email to the Ateneo de Manila University’s Blueboard last Tuesday afternoon, 15 December 2009.  The Blueboard is the mailing list for Ateneo’s administrators, faculty, and staff.  So far seven (8) has shown interest.  I invited them to the Ateneo Latin Mass Society Yahoo group: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ateneolatinmass/.  I shall post their email responses in the comment section.  I shall remove their surnames but retain their affiliations.  Since there are five original (5) students in the group, then the stable group is now 14 (including me).

Update 12/18/2009: The invitation to the TLM at the Ateneo was featured in the Ateneo de Manila website: Traditional Latin Mass still celebrated at Ateneo.

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

27 Responses to Blueboard: Traditional Latin Mass at the Ateneo: an Invitation to Form a Stable Group

  1. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Please I would like to be part of this. I was in the last batch to take up Latin in high
    school (1971-73) and I would attend the sung Latin masses which was common every Sunday noon in many churches in London back in 1980-82 when I was a student there. I might still have a missallette and I will gladly share it for reproduction. I do not sing well and have forgotten to read notes but I know the melody of the Kyrie, Gloria, Credo (I do not recall if it was the Palestrina or Mozart version). Best wishes,

    Bobing, PhD
    Economics Department
    local 5220-2

  2. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Gratias agamus Domino Deo nostro!

    My name is Rene, a junior instructor at the Department of Political Science. I am so thrilled to have received this email today. I have been attending the EF form of the Mass at the Lord of Divine Mercy Parish in Sikatuna, QC celebrated by Fr. Joe Michelle Zerrudo for some time now and have in fact intended myself to form a stable group in Ateneo that will also “popularize” or “re-introduce” traditional Catholic spirituality in campus including the Extraordinary Form of the Mass, which thanks to Summorum Pontificum has been more accessible for the past couple of years now to a greater number of Catholics. I have been drawn to the EF Mass because of its deep reverential silence and its “orientation” in liturgical prayer which tends to get lost in the clapping, shouting and dancing that accompany may Novus Ordo masses in some parishes.

    Last year, I started talking about the EF Form with my friends, colleagues in Ateneo and even students and even began a blog (which unfortunately because of my teaching and research load I failed to update after the first post haha). Maybe I can meet with you sometime and talk more about our common visions.

    Here’s the blog by the way (it’s virtually empty, but now that I know that I’m not alone
    in the Ateneo, I will be more diligent with this): http://ateneo-latin-mass-society.blogspot.com/. I sing a little bit of Gregorian chant and willing to learn more but I don’t know how to serve yet, I’m also enthusiastic about learning.

    Your email is the best Christmas gift I could ever receive this season. Thanks much.

    Best Regards,
    Rene

  3. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    I am Gino, your former student in Physics NatSci and currently a lecturer for the Department of Political Science. I want to be part of the stable group for the traditional Latin Mass. I know the fundamentals of serving at Mass, and I also know some Gregorian Chants.

    Thank you very much.

    Yours,

    Gino

  4. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Good day!

    Just wondering if we can join the Latin Mass as audience only….I hope to experience it.

    Thank you.

    Mary Anne
    Grade School

  5. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Hello,

    I am very much interested in joining this group. I have been longing to put up such a group but I simply don’t have the time and social capital to be able to do so. I have been hearing the Traditional Latin Mass since my days from high school at the nearby church of the Priestly Society of St. Pius X. I think it would even be nicer if it won’t only be Fr. Ofrasio we’d be inviting but the other, older priests as well.

    I do not know, unfortunately, how to serve in the Old Mass. Neither am I adept in singing Gregorian chant. However, being a sacristan of the New Mass, I might be able to pick up.

    Many many thanks for this GREAT opportunity! It’s simply about time!

    Joaquin
    III AB Development Studies

  6. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Thank you for your email, which I got from Dr. Carol Nunez.  I am very much
    interested in restoring the Traditional Latin Mass on campus!  I once played
    the organ for the Missa Cantata, and am familiar with Gregorian Chant
    notation (I was a Music Director for a Catholic Church in California).

    Please let me know how I can help. Thank you very much!

    Regards,

    Niccolo

    Lecturer
    Department of English

  7. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    I’d like to be part of the stable group requesting that Latin Mass be celebrated. However I don’t know how to recite the responses, serve at mass, or sing Gregorian Chant. Is that all right? But if any help is needed to produce materials for the masses, like misalettes, etc., then I can help in
    that area. :)

    Joanna

    Vice President’s Office, Loyola Schools

  8. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    I have been an avid follower of your blog for some months now, and it your latest entry has certainly made me very happy. Although I was brought up not knowing what the Latin Mass was like, I guess I have always yearned for more solemnity and reverence in the way the Mass was celebrated in my neck of the woods. I was fortunate enough to have received solid instruction in my faith from grade school to high school, though admittedly I still fall short of those ideals at times. It would be a wonderful opportunity, indeed, to attend the ‘Mass of the Ages’ so-called; perhaps it is providential that just a few days ago I was looking at some old yearbooks of past batches of Ateneans, some from over fifty to fifty five years ago. What a difference half a century certainly makes (the 1954 yearbook, in particular, celebrates the Mass as its theme)!

    Anyway, I digress. It would be an honor to experience the TLM even just once in the LS before I finally graduate. Many thanks for your courageous endeavor. I really do think the tide is turning, as even the Ateneo website itself has featured your announcement. Deo gratias indeed, and a blessed Christmas to you.

    – Miguel

    a senior at LS (though graduating at ’11)

  9. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    I’m an Ateneo alumnus (BS Bio 1976) who lives in Vancouver, British Columbia. My wife and I attend Holy Family Parish, a Traditional Mass parish in the care of the FSSP, and I am also on the board of the Vancouver Traditional Mass Society. We come to Manila every December and I’m excited to learn about your efforts to bring the Traditional Mass to the Ateneo campus. It looks like you may already have found your stable group, if the number of members of this Yahoo Group is any indication.

    I would be interested in meeting you sometime (I’ve been following your blog for a number of months). What will your schedule be like during the Christmas holidays? We’ll be leaving for Vancouver on January 11, so I could also look you up on campus when classes resume in the new year.

    If it’s more convenient, you can reply to this message by emailing me at __.

    Best wishes, and may God bless your efforts!

    Sincerely,

    Frank

  10. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    I’m Robert, a Junior at the John Gokongwei School of Management at the Ateneo de Manila University. I am very interested in the traditional Latin mass, albeit I must admit that I’ve only had the chance to witness it over YouTube and am not not knowledgeable of Latin, of how to sing Latin chants, nor of how to serve in a Latin mass. I am, however, willing to learn.

    I hope this drive to bring back the traditional Catholic Latin mass succeeds so young people like myself can be afforded the chance to participate in one.

  11. Pingback: Blueboard: Traditional Latin Mass at the Ateneo: an Invitation to … graduate university

  12. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    I came upon the posting “Traditional Latin Mass still celebrated at Ateneo” and am indicating my interest in being part of the stable group which Fr. Ofrasio would like to see.

    I belong to Ateneo High School Class ’55 and during most of my grade school and high school years, we were drilled through the Missa Recitata. It was not music but it grounded us thoroughly on the Latin responses, which I have in memory until now. I also had four years of Latin in high school, and I did fairly well in that subject.

    Unfortunately, I never learned how to serve mass. I do not read notes either and do not have enough familiarity with Gregorian chants. However, I was head of one choir and organized two choirs in my lifetime, and at least one of these two is still going strong, if not both.

    Sometime in my years at the Ateneo – I can’t remember which – I belonged to a choir which sang the Misa Coral de Pio X. I loved that mass and I remember most – or maybe all – of the songs in it. I looked for the notes several years ago and got them, but when the last big flood submerged our bungalow in ceiling-high water, I lost everything including those notes. I
    now live in flood-free locality and I’m looking again for someone who might have the notes to Misa Coral de Pio X.

    About ten years ago, I offered to organize a weekly Latin mass in our parish. Our parish priest at that time agreed on condition that I would be able to fill the church. I didn’t think that I could, so I had to give up the idea.

    If I can be a useful part of that stable group, please let me know.

    Thank you.

    Jess

  13. blackshama says:

    I am interested in attending EF Masses at the Ateneo. I came home from the Anglican Church (where the old liturgies where preserved like evensong , BCP and the English Mass (a translation of the Tridentine rites)). However in the Catholic Church in the Philippines, I found out that we have lost that continuity with the past which some Anglicans were able to maintain. I am glad that there is a plan to once more celebrate the Mass in the EF. This would reconnect us with the tradition which Chesterton likens to the vote of those who passed away.

    However as a post Vatican II coming home Catholic I had never attended any EF mass although in England I regularly attended Novus Ordo masses in Latin at Westminster Cathedral. I had been informed that Latin Masses were being offered by some priests here even during the time when indults were given. But I was saddened to learn that the Masses were offered by priests not in full communion with Rome.

    I never learned how to sing Gregorian chant but I know some Latin since an old Jesuit tutored me in the language when I was doing my PhD. He asked me to read the Latin Vulgate to get the feel and indeed that lectio divina was important to my soul’s well being!

    Assisting at a Latin Mass may complete my classical “education” and coming home to the Church.

    God bless and Merry Christmas to all!

    Benjamin
    College of Science
    University of the Philippines

  14. blackshama says:

    I forgot to ask. Is it OK for people from across Katipunan Road to join your group? :-)

    Benjamin

  15. Great work, Doc Quirino. The seeds are finally germinating! Continue the good work. I hope to join the Ateneo TLM, soon.

  16. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Please send more information on when the Extraordinary form of the Roman rite is celebrated at the Ateneo. I am interested in attending services.

    However, I don’t know how to sing the Gregorian chant and as a post Vatican II Catholic convert, I would need to use a diglot Latin Missal in order to follow the Mass.

    Hoping for your response

    A Blessed Christmas to you

    Benjamin, PhD

    Department of Environmental Science and Meteorology
    University of the Philippines

  17. Doc Benjamin,

    The Latin Mass Community of the Parish of the Lord of the Divine Mercy in Sikatuna Village gives Latin Missals to those who would want to learn the Latin Mass. I have an extra copy that I can also give to you. I also have a CD of commonly used Gregorian Chants like the Missa de Angelis chants. I could also give a copy to you.

  18. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Hi Pinoy Catholic,

    I posted Doc Benjamin’s email to me as a comment in this post. I shall invite you to the Ateneo Latin Mass Society yahoo group so that you can contact him.

  19. Chiness says:

    I’m renewing my query whether this would be open for UP students. Of course, I understand that the name bears “Ateneo” but I don’t see it as a hindrance.

    Thanks.

  20. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Hi Chiness,

    There are still no rules on membership. I accept anyone who come. I don’t think being in U.P. is a hindrance to join the Ateneo Latin Mass Society (ALMS), except perhaps the difficulty of going to Ateneo from U.P. I also received one request from U.P. and one from DLSU to join the ALMS. I invited them to join the ALMS yahoo group. My thinking is that the ALMS is a stable group of faithful who hears the Traditional Latin Mass at Ateneo de Manila University. This group can come from inside Ateneo itself or from outside.

    By the way, I already invited you to join the ALMS yahoo group :)

  21. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    i am a semi-regular attendee of the traditional latin mass. i attend the
    8:30 AM mass on saturdays at the Christ the King parish in green meadows,
    QC. i am glad to learn about fr. tim’s efforts to keep the ancient liturgy
    alive. although i was told about this about a month ago by fr. noel vasquez,
    i was unable to ask him how to contact fr. tim or what the schedule of the
    traditional mass on the ateneo campus was. so it was with great serendipity
    that i stumbled upon your e-mail address on the ateneo website and how fr.
    tim is open to saying mass at a bigger and more regular basis.

    i am sorry that i do not serve at mass and am even more in the dark about
    gregorian chanting. nevertheless, you can count on my full support for the
    saying of what is known as the extraordinary form of the mass on a more
    regular basis.

    the Lord continue to bless your efforts!

    happy new year!

    reuel

  22. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Hello and Merry Christmas!

    I’d like to be a part of the Ateneo TLM stable group you are forming. Although being a UP student, I cannot yet guarantee my attendance until schedules are finalized, but I will support it as much as I can.

    I have experience singing/reading Gregorian chants and playing the organ for the TLM, being part of the schola at the TLM in Divine Mercy, Sikatuna. I had a chance to attend one of Fr. Tim’s private TLM’s in Ateneo; also I got to sing when he once offered a low Mass in Sikatuna.

    God bless you sir for this initiative!

    – Ron

  23. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Thanks, So there is an Ateneo Latin Mass Society, that’s great to know.

    One more year and hopefully Ill be done with my studies.

    Thanks for the info on the Latin Mass being held at QC. Ill probably include it
    in my schedule next year.

    Ive been to Ateneo several times, especially at the bookstore.

    I now feel  a bit excited to visit Ateneo knowing that you are there.

    Have a Blessed Christmas!

    Natz
    MST in Chemistry Student
    DLSU

  24. Musette says:

    LOng live the Latin Mass…It is sooooo SACRED !Grandma

    Let’s PRAY for its continuance!….especially the St Mchael prayer AT THE END of mass.

  25. I would like to attend this Tridentine Mass. I have attended this extrordinary mass when I was in London celebrated by a French bishop. We have a very small congregation. It is a very tiny group supported by very few Filipinas.
    Now I am gone home for good. I was really looking for the proper Latin Mass here in the Philippines and I am using 1945 St. Andrew Daily Missal. I haven’t attended any mass here because I know it’s a modernized one and knew it’s a false mass. I only say my daily rosary in Latin.
    Please be kind enough to tell me your exact address, time of the mass and dates. I am from Batangas City so I can prepare.
    Thank you very much for a favourable response to this matter.

    Very truly yours,

    Jane A. Malaluan

  26. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Hi Jane,

    We still have no chapel right now, so we have no Latin mass here in Ateneo. My fellow coordinators are still busy this summer; but we shall meet hopefully at the end of May. Pro Deo et Patria blog has a list of Traditional Latin Mass schedules in Manila in its sidebar: http://prodeoetpatria.blogspot.com/. If you wish to visit me at Manila Observatory, you may email me: qsugon@yahoo.com. You may also like to join our Ateneo Latin Mass Society yahoo group: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ateneolatinmass/

    Quirino

  27. jm says:

    i have a copy of Misa Coral de Pio X – Vocals.
    here is my email: junmarkdocdoc@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

