Monk’s Hobbit’s 1st Anniversary: Some reflections on mission and vision

Today is the official 1st year anniversary of Monk’s Hobbit.  Actually, my first post was on Oct 21, 2008, a short poem entitled “The Dark Ages are at Hand.”  October 21 was the feast of St. Hilarion.  Here is what the 1962 Baronius missal says about him:

St. Hilarion, a native of Paelstine, was instructed by the first lawgiver of the anchorites, St. Anthony the Great, and became one of the founders of the eremetical life in the Holy Land, Syria and Egypt.  He died A.D. 372.

It is fitting that Monk’s Hobbit’s first post is on the feast day of a monk.

My next post was on November 5, 2008, entitled “St. Ignatius’s rules for thinking with the church and the Ateneo faculty’s dissent against Humanae Vitae“.  At that point I finally knew what I wish to do in my blog: to revive the authentic Jesuit Spirituality of Ateneo de Manila University through St. Ignatius’s “Rules for Thinking, Judging, and Feeling with the Church.  In line with this, I would like to propose the following for the years ahead:

  1. ACIL (Ateneo Catechetical Instruction League) should not be classified as socially oriented organization
  2. The Sodality of Our Lady should be separated from Christian Life Communities
  3. Liberation Theology should be optional in college.  Possible alternatives would be Mariology or Dogmatic Theology.
  4. Greek and Latin (traditional Ateneo strengths) should be offered together with the present Spanish, French, and German.
  5. Traditional latin mass should be be offered weekly or daily in the college chapel.
  6. Real novenas, e.g. Sacred Heart, should be introduced and not the present two paragraph novenas within the mass.
  7. Masses should start with a rosary.
  8. Liturgical dancing and sitting masses should be banned.

I can go on.  These suffice for now.  “Mary for you, for your white and blue.  We pray you’ll keep us Mary faithful to you.  We pray you’ll keep us Mary faithful and true.”

So what is special about November 4? Well, it is my 34th birthday. I am already past my tweens, “as the hobbits called the irresponsible twenties between childhood and coming of age at 33” (Fellowship of the Ring, p. 22). So today is also my 1st year from my coming of age. I am as old as my blog.  November 4 is also the Feast of St. Charles Borromeo (Carolus Borromeus). Pope John Paul II celebrates this feast instead of his birthday because his name is Karol. St. Charles and I are still not that close–I have not still prayed to him–unlike in the case of St. Thomas Aquinas, St. Albert the Great, St. Augustine of Hippo, and St. Robert Bellarmine. I have affinity to saints who are both theologians and scientists. But I just read that St. Charles’s favorite are Jesuits. And he is known for building seminaries for the education of priests.  That is why many seminaries are named after St. Charles or San Carlos.  I think I should invoke St. Charles more often.  St. Charles Borromeo, pray for us.

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

5 Responses to Monk’s Hobbit’s 1st Anniversary: Some reflections on mission and vision

  1. Enbrethiliel says:

    +JMJ+

    Happy Anniversary! =D

  2. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Thanks, Enbrethiliel. May God bless your Sancta Sanctis blog.

  3. Happy Anniversary Quirino! And remember what my brother/priest told you. “Continue what you are doing. You are doing a great service to the Church!”

  4. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Thanks, Pinoy Catholic. Thanks, too, for the Sancta Missa DVD. It shall go a long way.

  5. I think Liberation Theology should not be optional. It should be completely banned from ALL Catholic institutions. Book burning if we must!

Leave a Reply

