Fr. Catalino Arevalo, S.J.: the words of Pres. Corazon Aquino about the Rosary given to her by Sr. Lucia of Fatima

Sister Lucia sent me this rosary which she herself made, with the message that I would be supported and protected in my presidency. She added, however, that more suffering would come my way. I now know that it was a prophetic message, as I had to fight back seven coup attempts to save my administration from power-grabbers in uniform. With Our Lady’s protection, I stood my ground and never left Malacanang, even when it was being attacked.

When I visited Sister Lucia in 1992, the first question she asked me was, ‘Do you still have the rosary I sent you?’ I replied, ‘Yes, but right now a niece who lives in Boston and is hoping to have a baby is borrowing it.’ –I feel so blessed and privileged to have this bond with Fatima and so I shared this rosary with relatives and friends.

Some names I remember, among the people who have prayed using the rosary given by Sister Lucia: Teddy Benigno, Chino Roces, Ed Angara, Violy Drilon, Bea Zobel and her daughter, Titoy Pardo, Sasa Lichauco, Doding Carlos, Meldy Cojuangco and her son Tony, Sr. Christine Tan, Mercy Tuason, Howard Dee and Dodo Dee, Arben Santos, Bettina Osmena, and … my sisters, my children and grandchildren.

What are the lessons of Fatima, which I have experienced in my own life, and which I can share with you? When people talk of Fatima, they invariably focus on the secrets of Fatima. These are the ‘three secrets’ of Fatima which Ninoy and I discovered:

First is the power of prayer, especially the daily praying of the rosary of Our Lady.

Second is the acceptance in faith of God’s plan in our own lives, and the entrustment of our lives to Mary.

Third is the spirit of sacrifice to carry out God’s designs, after the example of Mary, offering personal sacrifice for a greater good toward God’s purposes. “These three elements are actually intertwined, as one leads to the others, to complete the process of one’s total conversion.

Read the full homily of Fr. Catalino Arevalo, S.J. in the Splendor of the Church

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

2 Responses to Fr. Catalino Arevalo, S.J.: the words of Pres. Corazon Aquino about the Rosary given to her by Sr. Lucia of Fatima

  1. Pingback: VandeNikhilam Information » Blog Archive » Fr. Catalino Arevalo, S.J.: the words of Pres. Corazon Aquino …

  2. eRosa says:

    What a priviledge to have a rosary made by the hands of someone who has see and spoke with our Lady! And the charity you show to share it with others is stellar!

    The three quotes at the end are so true,

    1. “First is the power of prayer, especially the daily praying of the rosary of Our Lady.”

    2. “Second is the acceptance in faith of God’s plan in our own lives, and the entrustment of our lives to Mary.”

    3. “Third is the spirit of sacrifice to carry out God’s designs, after the example of Mary, offering personal sacrifice for a greater good toward God’s purposes. “These three elements are actually intertwined, as one leads to the others, to complete the process of one’s total conversion.”
    These two quotes are so true. Please visit this website to help you with the above three points.

Leave a Reply

