Tantum Ergo in an elevator: a Filipino meets an Indonesian

Yesterday I was in Singapore for a conference on earthquake prediction using electromagnetic waves, one of the workshops of the Science Council of Asia.  (I was only asked by my boss to go in his stead, because he is busy at enrollment at Ateneo de Davao University.)  I left my room at the 11th floor of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, while softly chanting Tantum Ergo; there are no churches nearby, so I tried to celebrate the Feast of the Sacred Heart in my own little way.  When I reached the elevator, a dark man with tuxedo and tie heard me and also hummed.  I smiled.

“Are you Catholic?” I asked.

“Yes,” he answered.

“What country are you from? I asked.

“Indonesia,” he answered.

“So there are Catholics in Indonesia?  I thought Indonesia is a
Muslim country?” I asked.

“Not many Catholics,” he said.  “But there are.”

The elevator opened.  We both entered.  After a few seconds, we reached the ground floor and said goodbye.

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

Leave a Reply

