Baronius 1962 Missal Sold at Totus Bookstore in Greenhills, San Juan, Philippines

My friend and I visited the Totus bookstore in the corner of Connecticut and Missouri Sts. in Greenhills, San Juan.  Their website says the bookstore is on the second corner of the Red Ribbon Building.  But we see no red ribbons, only blue letters (was it Abenson?).

We went up through a narrow stairway and entered the bookstore.  The bookstore was small, about 5 steps by 15 steps.  But on its shelf of books are those of Ratzinger and Chesterton.  And we say, “Ooooh” and “Aaaaah.”  If I had money, I could have bought them all.  It is window shopping for now.

We came there not for Ratzinger or for Chesterton but for a weekday missal.  My friend needs one, as she likes to go to mass everyday at the college chapel (and I usually accompany her).   It’s a Vatican II missal in red cover.  She flipped some pages and explained that the Sunday readings have a three year cycle and the week day reading have a two-year cycle.  So after three years of attending mass, we would have heard most of the bible.

The sales lady overheard us.   She said that is one of their last stocks.  A new Vatican II missal is coming probably next year.  I have heard about this, since ICEL (those responsible for translating the bible into English) have adopted a mode of translation which is closer to the Latin original.  So instead of “Lord, I am not worthy to receive you, but only say a word and I shall be healed,” it would now sound like the Centurion speaking, “Lord, I am not worthy that you come under my roof, but only say a word and my soul [servant] shall be heard.”  But this is already the Ilonggo translation in Negros (Central Philippines), in my hometown in Bacolod City, for we say, “Ginoo, dili ako angay na magsulod ka sa akon puluy-an, apang imitlang lang ang imo pulong kag maga-ayo ang akon kalag.”  In this respect, the Ilonggo translators have already been more faithful to the Latin original even decades ago.

And we saw the 1962 missal.  Baronius in white leather cover.  Bigger than my palm and thicker than my three fingers.  I wish to buy it.  But it is expensive: P 2800.  The black book cover with zipper is P 1050.  That makes it a total of about P 4000.  My friend also wishes to buy it.  But since she may be given that missal by October, she can settle for the Vatican II missal for now.  That is far cheaper anyway at P 1200.

We said goodbye to the sales lady.  As a parting gift, she gave us a catalogue for Ignatius press and Tan books.  Impressive.  Totus bookstore has lived up to its name.  It has everything a good Catholic should read.

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

9 Responses to Baronius 1962 Missal Sold at Totus Bookstore in Greenhills, San Juan, Philippines

  1. Roxanne says:

    The Sunday Lectionary is a 3-year cycle (Year A, B and C) while the Weekday Lectionary is a 2-year cycle: Year I for odd years and Year II for even years.
    Years that are evenly divisible by 3 are Year C; years that have a remainder of 1 are Year A; years that have a remainder of 2 are Year B. (Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lectionary)

    Now we are at Year B for Sunday Readings and Year I for Weekday.

  2. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Hi Roxanne,
    Thanks. I’ll correct my post.

  3. Patch says:

    Hi,

    What is the black book cover with zipper?

    The add-on might makes it expensive. Is it is still worth getting the add-on?

  4. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Hi Patch,
    The black book cover with zipper add-on is similar to those used by Protestant pastors to cover their bibles. The zipper makes sure that the pages are protected from the rain and dust. The add-on is indeed expensive. You may like to buy the missal without the add-on cover. But if you can find a cheaper cover+zipper for bibles of the same size as your missal, that maybe is a better option.

  5. Henry says:

    Our website is under construction. We used to have Red Ribbon Baked Shop before. Landmark now is AMICI Restaurant with the great Cara Mia gellato. Yes, the blue logo is Abenson. Thanks for posting. I am happy you found treasured books from PB16 to Chesterton at Totus.

    This Saturday, we will have theology seminar entitled Know the Truth seminar with emphasis on Apologetics. Please visit http://www.defensoresfidei.com for details. Topic is Where did the Bible come from? Seminar will run for 12 weeks .

    I suggest Surprised by Truth book by Patrick Madrid as starter.
    Hope to meet you soon.

    Henry Siy

  6. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    Dear Henry,
    I was there at the Defensores Fidei talk last Saturday. And I think I saw you. I was the one who raised my hand when you asked who knew Dr. Rey Entila and Prof. Danton Remoto. Rey is my colleague and friend in University of St. La Salle in Bacolod City. He was the one who lent me his apologetics books. Prof. Remoto is my colleague here in Ateneo de Manila University. He teaches English; I teach physics.

    I shall be there at the Apologetics Seminar again this Saturday.

    Quirino

  7. Darwin says:

    try abebooks.co.uk , that’s where i got mine. very cheap like 400 pesos when converted but shipping is twice the price. the missal’s publishing year is 1957 but it looks like it was never used. mint condition.

  8. Is the 1962 missal with English-Latin Translation? Thanks

  9. Quirino M. Sugon Jr says:

    yes

Leave a Reply

