Fr. James B. Reuter, S.J. celebrates his 93rd birthday

MANILA, May 23, 2009—The venerable grand old man of Philippine Church and secular media, Magsaysay awardee for journalism, EDSA I hero, Fr. James B. Reuter, SJ, celebrated his 93rd birthday, at Our Lady of Peace Hospital.

This is where he is presently residing, probably till his death, upon retiring from the National Office of Mass Media and the Philippine Federation of Catholic Broadcasters, of which he has been the founding Executive Director and Executive Secretary, respectively.

He resigned and both offices will be closed at the end of this month. Fr. Reuter, a humble man and good religious, could only bow in obedience!

“Tatang,” as close associates call him, was the main celebrant. He had to be helped through the celebration of the Eucharist. His eyes were no longer good and some of the prayers had to be dictated.

His original all-male Glee Club at the Ateneo de Manila was there. Ruben Nunez, the advertising man and Noel Trinidad (minus Subas Herrero, who was also a member of that Glee Club). They sang during the Mass. And they kept singing for him, around him when he was still taking his lunch.

“Tatang” would stop his lunch and would re-live his conducting days. Sr. Sarah, Sr. Aurelie, Tita Cherry, Virgie, Evelyn, Boy, Cecille (his caregiver since the day he needed one) and other former staff at the NOMM were there. His friends, former students, spiritual sons and daughters, admirers were there—close to a hundred.

Former Judge Jose Apolo, one of Fr. Jim’s former basketabll players in the team he coached at the Ateneo de Naga, gifted some of the guests with his book “Quo Vadis, Philippines?”. “Tatang” wrote the introduction. (Fr. Nonie Dolor)

Source: CBCP News

About Quirino M. Sugon Jr
Theoretical Physicist in Manila Observatory

4 Responses to Fr. James B. Reuter, S.J. celebrates his 93rd birthday

  1. Adelina A. Alabanza says:

    I hope Rev. Father Reuter still remembers me. I treasure nostalgic and loving memories of him. I visited him in the Philippines when I came for vacation..Kindly extend to him my prayerful wishes and love!!!

  2. Lea Bowie says:

    To my dear Fr. Reuter,

    You are in my prayers and in my heart. Next to my father, you are the man I most admire above any. You were witness to my baptism in the Los Baños Japanese Internment Camp. You offciated at my marriage and were my confessor and retreat priest more times than I can remember (all through my years in Maryknoll and St. Paul’s). You were a colleague of my dad Hal Bowie in radio and television and you both were friends. I recently found the script of the first play I did with you “St. Francis of Navarre” when I was 8 years old. I had the role of a little girl in India (That I did not look at all Indian (being blond and green eyed)was of no consequence.) I even “starred” as a novice nun in a little television play called “God’s Little Sunbeam” for ABS-CBN which you directed around 1962/63. I celebrated with you and hundreds of your “children” and colleagues your 50th anniversary as a priest here in La Mama theater in New York City. I am only sorry I live in Brooklyn, so far from my beloved Manila, that I cannot visit with you now in this twilight of your remarkable life. Your influence in my life, especially my spiritual one, cannot be measured in time, only in substance. I love you dearly dear Father and please remember me in your prayers as I’m sure your broadcasts get to the Big Boss faster than our poor simple ones. I kiss your hands in reverence and fondness and hope this message gets to you. I’m only sorry I discovered this site so late this year.
    Your child in Christ and Mary and alumnus of Maryknoll and St. Paul’s,
    Lea Bowie

  3. Dear Fr. Reuter,

    Pax Christi!
    I want to thank you for giving me the trust and confidence to shoot and edit your “3 Minutes a Day” TV program for Family Rosary Crusade.

    I hope and pray that God will always be by your side.
    A.M.D.G.

    Truly yours,
    Rundstedt

  4. Wijinne says:

    I love you Papa Bear!

Leave a Reply

